Thanksgiving Part II

Thanksgiving continued…….so the day of Thanksgiving I didn’t get up early my awesome husband got the turkey out of the brine and ran water over it and left it in the sink for me….My dad and him got up early to go hunting so I rolled out of bed and my mom and I stuffed the turkey and put it in the oven covered.

This gorgeous color comes from uncovering the turkey and slathering it in butter……this turkey was delicious…but I had trouble figuring out if it was done or not because my thermometer would read different temperatures in different areas of the turkey…..so I was worried….but we are all still alive.

I also had the stuffing in the turkey which was fine except it was taking way to long to cook so I took the stuffing out and it was super moist and good but I dropped some stuffing in the bottom of the roasting pan which kind of burned so I didn’t get to use the pan for making my gravy.

When we were very close to being done with everything I popped the mashed potatoes, sweet potatoes and the stuffing in the oven. You sometimes don’t realize that there is smoke when you are busy making gravy until the smoke alarm starts going off. Rats, I looked in the oven and I saw what looked like pan drippings that had spilt from when Mr. Awesome had put the turkey back in the oven.  I fanned the smoke away from the smoke alarm so it would stop BEEP BEEP BEEPING!!!  In about two minutes and every two minutes after it went off how annoying!

I learned that that sweet potatoes were a little too full and the brown sugar butter topping was dripping down and onto the bottom of the oven Yikes!  

So after that Dad helped with the giblets and gravy

 Yes BOO will eat anything!

Mr. Awesome carved the turkey up like a pro

Boo taste tasted the green beans

The table was set with my china that we got almost four years ago at our wedding and finally I got to use them!! People were happy about the food and the china!

IT WAS A GOOD DAY!

Love,

 Country Gal

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a comment