Thanksgiving Part I

Since I seem to be behind on everything this year….it is only proper that I post this about two weeks late:-)   Here is my very first Thanksgiving dinner that I did at my house. It was a lot of work but very rewarding and yummy!

Day one is called Thanksgiving prep…..I tried to make everything that I could before hand, which included cranberry sauce, rolls, mashed potatoes, jello salad, and turkey brining.

The cranberry sauce was to die for and it was so simple just a bag of cranberries and some POM juice…yum yum!
Since I had never done a turkey before I took all of  Pioneer Woman’s advice on her website since she did beat Bobby Flay in Throwdown so I figured it was a safe bet. This is her brining recipe.
Yes here is a big bird…20lbs to be exact and this all in a brining bag…..the brine kind of got away from me and spilled. Oh well there will be a bunch of brine on the floor behind the oven forever.
Into the refrigerator for 12-14 hours and wow was it yumm!
You might be wondering why I am alone in the kitchen pregnant and barefoot…well here is what everyone else was doing…..

Andrew eats anything he can find

Buster sad that Shawn and Dad left him home while they went hunting

Zoe living it up by the fireplace since Buster stole her bed for the weekend.

My lovely mother getting her TV watching in...offering moral support of course.

 Actually I had tons of help and I couldn’t of done it without my Mom helping and she made the stuffing so Part 2 will continue with the rest of the Thanksgiving adventures………………

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a comment